We hope that your visit is safe and enjoyable !
Please take a few moments to read the following precautions that should be taken when at the lake.
PLAN TO RETURN HOME SAFELY !
- Learn to swim.
- Never swim alone.
- Swim only in designated areas.
- Watch children at all times. NEVER leave a child unattended while near the water.
- Wear a lifejacket. Children under the age of 13 are required by law to wear PFDs while on the water in the State of Texas.
- Alcohol and water do not mix. NEVER consume alcohol while boating or swimming.
- Never rely on toys such as inner tubes and rafts to stay afloat.
- Do not over estimate your ability to swim.
- Never dive into lakes or rivers.
- Boaters should observe all warning signs and buoys. Please use caution when boating in unfamiliar waters.
WHO MAY OPERATE A PERSONAL WATER CRAFT?
- Each person on board a PWC must wear a Coast Guard approved personal flotation device (lifejacket).
- All operators must be at least 16 years of age, unless they are accompanied by an individual 18 years of age or older or are 13 years of age or older and have taken a boating safety course.
If the PWC is equipped with a lanyard type engine cut-off switch the lanyard must be attached to the person, clothing or PFD of the operator.
It is illegal to:
Operatet a PWC between sunset ands sunrise.
Operate a PWC within 50 feet of another boat or PWC, a person, a stationary platform or a shoreline. The only exception is when the PWC is maintaining headway speed.
Operate the PWC in a manner that requires the operator to swerve at the last possible moment to avoid collision.
Jump the wake of another boat recklessly or unneccessarliy close to that boat.
A PWC must be rated for at least two persons when towing persons on waterskis or a similar device.
If an observer is used, the PWC must be rated for three people- the driver, the observer and the retrieved skier.
You must be 16 years of age or older to operate a boat powered by a motor of 15 horsepower or more unless you are 13 years of age or older and have passed a boater education couse approved by Texas Parks & Wildlife or you are accompanied by a person on board who is 18 years of age or older.
Be aware that the mandatory boater education law supersedes this law limiting the age of powerboat operators. This means if you were born after August 31, 1984, and are less than 18 years of age, you must have passed a boater education course approved by Texas Parks & Wildlife to operate a boat powered by a motor of 10 horsepower or more.
US Army Corps of Engineers
Fort Worth District
If your group or school is interested in a water safety presentation, contact
Park Ranger Curry Murphy at
(972) 442-3141 x231.
Park Ranger Eric Pedersen teaching at a water safety expo.