Water Safety

We hope that your visit is safe and enjoyable.

Please take a few moments to read the following precautions that should be taken when at the lake.

  1. Learn to swim.
  2. Never swim alone.
  3. Swim only in designated areas.
  4. Watch children at all times. NEVER leave a child unattended while near the water.
  5. Wear a lifejacket. Children under the age of 13 are required by law to wear PFDs while boating on the water in the State of Texas.
  6. Alcohol and water do not mix. NEVER consume alcohol while boating or swimming.
  7. Never rely on toys such as inner tubes and rafts to stay afloat.
  8. Do not over estimate your ability to swim.
  9. Never dive into lakes or rivers.
  10. Boaters should observe all warning signs and buoys. Please use caution when boating in unfamiliar waters.

Enjoy your visit and plan to return home safely!

Personal Water Craft
  • Each person on board a PWC must wear a Coast Guard approved personal flotation device (lifejacket).
  • The PWC may be operated only between the hours of sunrise and sunset.
  • The PWC may not be operated within 50 feet of other vessels, platforms, shoreline, person, or other object.
  • All operators must be at least 18 years of age or older.  Note:  Children under age 13 are specifically prohibited from operating a PWC unless accompanied on board by a person at least 18 years of age.  13 is the minimum age to operate a PWC having taken the Boater safety course as per Texas Parks and Wildlife.  For further information click on TPWD  boating image.

 

Water Safety Links

 

r Safety Dog
Red Cross
National Water Safety Congress
US Coastguard Auxiliary
Corps of Engineers National Water Safety Program
National Water Safety Congress

 

Life Jacket Exchange Program

Information coming soon